>

Car Insurance Quotes Online | Auto Insurance Quote | Car Insurance Quote |

Helping to find the best car insurance quote
Low Rate Car Insurance!
Loading

OUT OF STATE COVERAGE

When the policy applies to the operation of a motor vehicle outside of your state, and the limits are higher in that state, your insurance will increase your limits to the extent of the limits required by the local law. As long as you possess those coverages in your own policy. For example, if you live in a state that requires PIP and the state you are driving in requires bodily injury, than your insurance will not provide bodily injury since you have not purchased this coverage.You must purchase bodily injury protection to have this coverage. If your PIP is $10,000/$20,000 and the state in which you are driving has a limit of $15,000/$30,000 than your limit will be increased to meet the higher limits required for that particular state.

No-fault insurance is sold in Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Washington. Other jurisdictions except Pennsylvania and the District of Columbia have traditional tort systems. Pennsylvania and DC have hybrid insurance systems.

Maryland Car Insurance Laws


 

The minimum amount of liability insurance required in Maryland is as follows:

$30,000/$60,000 for bodily Injury

$30,000/$60,000 uninsured motorist

$15,000 for property damage

$2,500 for Personal Injury Protection(PIP)


 

Maryland state sealAutomobile liability insurance is generally defined as coverage for bodily injury you cause to another person or for property damage you cause to another person’s property through negligent use of your vehicle. In Maryland you are required to carry $30,000/$60,000 in bodily injury protection and $15,000 in property damage. The minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage required by Maryland law is $30,000/$60,000.

Maryland law requires consumers to purchase at least
$2,500 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. You may
be able to waive PIP coverage for certain individuals resulting
in a reduction in your premium. Because PIP coverage may duplicate an individual’s health care coverage, some consumers choose to waive PIP if they feel they have adequate health care coverage and/or can afford to pay for medical treatment.

You should check your health care policy and consult your producer about this coverage. Although waiving PIP results in a lower premium, you should keep in mind that PIP also pays lost wages and
your household members’ medical expenses, which are not covered under health
care policies.

Be aware that the liability coverage required by law covers only damage the policy holder does to others. To pay for damages to your car, you will need to purchase collision insurance or comprehensive insurance for damage to your vehicle from other causes.
In Maryland uninsured motorist coverage is not required, so you may not be able to collect for damages if you are involved in an accident with a uninsured or under insured owner.

Maryland is governed by a Tort System. If you are involved in an accident, someone must be held liable for the cause of the accident. The person at fault is generally responsible for all damages. Compensation for claims is the responsibility of the person found to be at fault.
Being that Maryland is a Tort state, it is usually recommend that driver’s consider carrying greater limits than just the state minimums requirements.



You should be aware that in a competitive insurance market insurance companies charge different rates for essentially the same coverage. Shopping around may result in savings to you on your automobile policy. Be sure to take into consideration the services provided by the company.