OUT OF STATE COVERAGE
When the policy applies to the operation of a motor vehicle outside of your state, and the limits are higher in that state, your insurance will increase your limits to the extent of the limits required by the local law. As long as you possess those coverages in your own policy. For example, if you live in a state that requires PIP and the state you are driving in requires bodily injury, than your insurance will not provide bodily injury since you have not purchased this coverage.You must purchase bodily injury protection to have this coverage. If your PIP is $10,000/$20,000 and the state in which you are driving has a limit of $15,000/$30,000 than your limit will be increased to meet the higher limits required for that particular state.
Idaho Car Insurance Laws
|The minimum amount of liability insurance required in Idaho is as follows:|
|$25,000/$50,000 for bodily Injury|
$15,000 for property damage
Automobile liability insurance is generally defined as coverage for bodily injury you cause to another person or for property damage you cause to another person’s property through negligent use of your vehicle. In Idaho you are required to carry $25,000/$50,000 in bodily injury protection and $15,000 in property damage.
Be aware that the liability coverage required by law covers only damage the policy holder does to others. To pay for damages to your car, you will need to purchase collision insurance or comprehensive insurance for damage to your vehicle from other causes. As of January 1, 2009, any policies sold after this date must include under insured motorist (UIM) bodily injury coverage in addition to uninsured motorist (UM) coverage unless the coverage has been expressly rejected in writing by a named insured. A named insured has the right to reject either or both UM or UIM coverage. The rejection must be in writing or in an electronic form that complies with Idaho’s Uniform Electronic Transaction Act (chapter 50 of Title 28, Idaho Code). Once a coverage rejection is obtained, the rejection applies to any renewal or replacement policy. UM and UIM coverage must be included in a policy unless and until the insurer receives the named insured’s written rejection. The UM and UIM motorist coverages must be at no less than the minimum limits required by Idaho Code § 49-117. The new law does not prohibit an insurer from requiring that the UM and UIM coverage limits be equal.
There is no state requirement for property damage, just bodily injuries. You should ask your agent if your company provides uninsured motorist property damage. Typically the price for this coverage is minimal and is well worth the premium.
You should be aware that in a competitive insurance market insurance companies charge different rates for essentially the same coverage. Shopping around may result in savings to you on your automobile policy. Be sure to take into consideration the services provided by the company.