Texas Goes Hi-tech
The state of Texas has implemented a new program that allows law enforcement to immediately check to see whether the vehicle is insured.
Car accidents are serious events that can cause untold devastating consequence to those involved. What would you do if you are injured by a motorist with no insurance? You Bodily Injury Liability covers injuries you to cause to other, but Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or the other drivers insurance is responsible for injuries you suffer. If you want to protect yourself from substantial financial and medical costs resulting from an automobile accident it is certainly a wise ideal to have uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage covers you, when the other driver is at fault and has no insurance.
The amount of drivers without valid insurance is on the raise again according to the Insurance Research council. Approximately one in six drivers in the United States may be driving without insurance. The number of uninsured drivers began rising in 2009 and it is believed that that the economic downturn may be a major factor.
The state of Texas has implemented a new program that allows law enforcement to immediately check to see whether the vehicle is insured. It is estimated that 20% of all Texas vehicle are uninsured at any given time. The use of deceptive scams to circumvent the insurance system by making fake proof or dropping insurance after a new card has been issued or over promises the Texas Department of Insurance.
The program which passed the Texas legislature (Senate Bill 1670) is designed to cut down on uninsured motorist in the state. The state believes that with this improved technology the verification program will improve overall driver safety, be cost effective and protect the privacy of the vehicle owner.
Once you have established financial responsibility through an auto insurance policy, your insurance company will report that information to the state. The information will be stored in a data base that can accessed by law enforcement in real time to certify that the motor vehicle has a current and valid certificate of insurance. TexasSure will be accessible by vehicle registration offices, sheriff officers, local police, and the Department of Public Safety.
The current law in Texas forbids anyone to operate a motor vehicle with a valid certificate of insurance. Texas auto insurance requires you carry $30,000/$60,000 in bodily injury protection and $25,000 in property damage. I
Driving without in insurance is a bad idea. First time offenders are subject to a $350 fine, plus court costs and additional fees may also be assessed. Repeat offenders face fines of $1,000 and a two year suspension of their driver’s license. If you are stopped by law enforcement you are still required to show valid proof of insurance, even if TexasSure verifies your coverage, so it is best to keep that card with you at all times.
The state estimate that there are currently 4million vehicles operating in the Texas that are not up to date or potentially uninsured. TexasSure began sending notices to the registered owners of these vehicles in June 2010. Recipients are provided with the vehicle registration information on file and specific guidance to help them correct the situation. A customer call center is also available for assistance.